Blue Quote Mark

Explore dance. Experience dance.


Blue Quote Mark

Springback Magazine is a place to read about, watch and hear about dance. A place where you can feel the pulse of contemporary movements across Europe, through opinion, commentary and reflection. A place to explore dance, and experience dance.

Founded in 2018, Springback is new, Europe-wide dance publication – and a new kind of dance publication.

How so? First, it covers dance across Europe (and sometimes beyond), embracing the wide, rich and hugely underrepresented network of independent and small- to mid-scale artists, while not excluding established names and bigger companies.

Second, it is both a publication and an editorial training initiative. Contributors are drawn exclusively from Springback Academy , an annual weekend writing programme run by Aerowaves dance network, in which participants from across Europe receive mentoring in English by professional dance writers. Springback Magazine takes that programme to the next level by providing a sustained, professional environment in which contributions are actively and constructively directed, edited and revised for publication – for the benefit of both readers and contributors.

Yet if our contributors are our greatest resource, our focus is on our visitors – you. Without you, there is no reader, no viewer, no listener. Hence our ethos is to be open, outward-looking and communicative to the non-specialist, and our hope is that you will share, talk and argue about what we do – whether in your own conversations or directly with us.

about springback

Meet the Springback people

Alexandra GrayAlexandra Gray
Anastasios KoukoutasAnastasios Koukoutas
Anna ChirescuAnna Chirescu
Anna DohyAnna Dohy
Anna KaszubaAnna Kaszuba
Annette van ZwollAnnette van Zwoll
Claire LefèvreClaire Lefèvre
Clàudia BrufauClàudia Brufau
Daniel PittDaniel Pitt
David PallantDavid Pallant
Evgeny BorisenkoEvgeny Borisenko
Francesca PinderFrancesca Pinder
Jelena MihelčićJelena Mihelčić
Ka BradleyKa Bradley
Lena MegyeriLena Megyeri
Louise TanotoLouise Tanoto
Luke ForbesLuke Forbes
Marie PonsMarie Pons
Oonagh DuckworthOonagh Duckworth
Riikka LaaksoRiikka Laakso
Róisín O’BrienRóisín O’Brien
Sanjoy RoySanjoy Roy
Sebastian KannSebastian Kann
Stella MastorosteriouStella Mastorosteriou
Yasen VasilevYasen Vasilev